Waikato BOP Cross Country Champs 2017 Results

The WBOPCCC was held at Waipuna Park in magnificently fine weather on a firm fast surface. Once again a huge thanks to Tauranga for a well organised event.  Sadly fields  were small but with 27 Hawks taking part our club at least made an impact. Cory Brew started the day for the Hawks and was 8th and youngest in the B11 event.  Charli Miller with a 15.27 clocking for the 4km U18 title led from the start and was an impressive winner. Aimee Ferguson took second spot with a 15.48 run while Samantha Corbett was 5th in 16.58. Mathijis Wetzels ran a sensible first 1km in the B15 3km and blitzed the field as the race progressed to win with style in a quick 10.18. In the U15G Kate Bradley and Gemma  Horan with 5th and 6th. It was pleasing to see Bridget Ray back to racing and in her first race this winter she won the MW55 from Maureen Leonard 27.00 to 29.37. Karyn McCready was 1st in MW45 with 29.10. In M18 over 6km Connor Tristram took 3rd in 22.17 with Karl Bradley 8th in 27.42.

It was really pleasing to see so many Hawks singlets feature in the Master Men grades. After running half the 8km as a group Mike Causer took off and looked real strong to win the MM45. Kent Hodgson produced his usual gutsy run to place 3rd MM45 in 30.45 just ahead Lance Brew 30.57 1st MM35. In quick succession came John Bowe 31.11, Gavin Butler 31.14, John Crane 1st MM50, Andrew Wark 2nd MM50 32.04. Mike Harris 33.09, Kevin Knowles 33.50 and 2nd in MM55,. Others to take part were Gary Wilson 36.32, Gilbert Macdonald 43.36, Grahame Clarkin 41.44 and Stepen Spackman 47.05. Our new recruit from Yorkshire Russ Best had a strong run in the Senior Mens 10km to place 2nd behind class masters runner Steve Ree-Jones. Russ ran 35.16 and the Waikato Uni lecturer will be a real asset to the club. Malesa McNearney showed the Hawks flag in  the senior women’s 10km placing 3rd in 42.12.

On reflection I ask where have all our runners gone? Hopefully once the road season starts there will be a massive turn out.

View full events results in PDF format here:

WaiBOP Cross Country Champs Results 2017

Click photo for larger view and more photos also on facebook click here